Today I dropped off my daughter for an early soccer practice and had several hours to kill before she needed to be picked up. It was a perfect amount of time to take a few pictures and write-up a blog post. It was also a perfect morning! I’m glad I threw the tripod into the truck because I came across some pretty interesting smokestack’s down at the Waterfront shopping complex in West Homestead, Pa.

Handheld shot HDR

Pretty good?

The first thing I discovered is that I really need a new tripod. The one I have probably cost around $40 ten years ago. The main problem with it is the head, it will only allow for a horizontal positioning of the camera. It would have been really nice to be able to compose a vertical shot that I didn’t have to hand-hold.

If you have an opinion on good tripods please leave a comment. I’m currently considering the Induro brand based on Amazon reviews and posts I’ve seen on other people’s blogs. I would really like to know if anyone has had a really bad experience with the brand. A ball head would have been really nice this morning!

All that being said, I think I found a couple of keeper shots.

HDR Smokestack

My favorite shot of the smokestacks

