Windy Point

Here is another shot from my recent trip to Arizona.  This one is taken on the road up to Mount Lemon in the Catalina Mountains.  It was getting late in the day and I couldn’t get a good shot from this position.  The exposure would either be correct for the rock formation or for the sky…but not both.  Taking a cue from Trey Ratcliff, I thought I’d try my hand at a hand-held HDR image.

Basically, I took three shots, one underexposed by a stop, one “correct” per the light meter and finally one overexposed by a stop. I then used an application called Photomatix to tie the three images together into what you see above.  If you go to Trey’s site he has a fantastic discussion on how to do this.  He uses the technique to great artistic effect.  I was hoping for something less dramatic and little closer to what I actually saw.  I think it came out well.

I do know that the best way to shoot an HDR image is typically to use a tripod, I didn’t bring mine along (note to self…) but given that the rocks weren’t moving and the relatively high shutter speeds I don’t think the shot was hurt. I’m glad I didn’t drink too much coffee on the way up the mountain.

